top of page
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • SoundCloud Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon

Posthumous Lifetime Achievement Award to Legendary Sports Broadcaster Craig Sager Among the Memorabl

Posthumous Lifetime Achievement Award to Legendary Sports Broadcaster Craig Sager Among the Memorable Moments at 28th Annual Broadcasting & Cable Hall of Fame Gala

Event Highlighted by Special Presentation to Gayle King By Oprah Winfrey

Kathie Lee Gifford, NBC’s TODAY; Rosanna Scotto, Co-host, Fox 5 Good Day New York;

and Robin Meade, Host, of HLN’s Morning Express with Robin Meade Co-Host the Evening

New York, October 30, 2018 – Legendary sports broadcaster Craig Sager was honored with a posthumous Lifetime Achievement Award at the 28th Annual Broadcasting & Cable Hall of Fame gala. The event was held last night, Monday, October 29 at New York’s Ziegfeld Ballroom. The award was accepted by his wife, Stacy Sager, and their children Riley (13) and Ryan (12).

Highlights of the evening also included an appearance by Oprah Winfrey, who presented her friend and colleague Gayle King with her Hall of Fame honor.

Kathie Lee Gifford, co-host of NBC’s TODAY, Rosanna Scott, co-host, of Fox 5 Good Day New York, and Robin Meade, host, of HLN’s Morning Express with Robin Meade co-hosted the evening. Charlie Weiss, Group Publisher, Broadcasting & Cable, Multichannel News, and Bill McGorry, Chairman of the Broadcasting & Cable Hall of Fame head up the Hall of Fame leadership team.

Sager, TNT’s beloved and highly regarded sideline reporter at NBA games since 1990, was well known for his colorful suits and knowledgeable interviewing. Sager passed away in 2016 and was inducted into the Sports Hall of Fame that same year. Stacy Sager heads up the SAGERSTRONG Foundation, a non-profit organization founded with her husband to support leukemia patients and their families.

Linda Yaccarino, Chairman, Advertising Sales and Client Partnerships, at NBCUniversal, was honored with the Hall of Fame’s Chairman’s Award.

The Broadcasting & Cable Hall of Fame class of 2018 joins the ranks of over 400 honorees previously recognized by Broadcasting & Cable magazine.

The complete list of 2018 Hall of Fame inductees includes:

  • ABC News 20/20

  • Christiane Amanpour, Chief International Correspondent, CNN; host of CNN’s Amanpour

  • Ira Bernstein & Mort Marcus, Co-Presidents, Debmar-Mercury

  • Charlie Collier, President & General Manager, AMC, SundanceTV and AMC Studios

  • Cesar Conde, Chairman, NBCUniversal International Group and NBCUniversal Telemundo Enterprises

  • Carole Cooper and Richard Leibner, Agents and Special Advisors to UTA Board of Directors.

  • Brian Deevy, Director, Liberty Media Corporation; RBC/Daniels & Associates

  • Gayle King, Co-Anchor, CBS This Morning

  • Greg Meidel, President, Twentieth Television

  • Courteney Monroe, Chief Executive Officer, National Geographic Global Networks

  • Jordan Wertlieb, President, Hearst Television

  • Linda Yaccarino (Chairman’s Award) Chairman, Advertising & Client Partnerships, NBCUniversal

A portion of the net proceeds is donated to The Broadcasters Foundation of America, a charitable organization that provides anonymous financial grants to those of our industry colleagues and their families who are in acute need due to critical illness or accident, advanced age, death of a spouse or other serious misfortune. In addition, The Paley Center for Media, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, leads the discussion about the cultural, creative, and social significance of television, radio, and emerging platforms for the professional community and media-interested public.

The Broadcasting & Cable Hall of Fame is one of the signature events taking place during the Sixth Annual NYC Television Week, October 29-November 1. Other events include 40 Under 40, Advanced Advertising, Next TV Summit, and TV Data Summit.

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Blogger Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Vkontakte Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
bottom of page